Debbie Young. Picture by Clint Randall www.pixelprphotography.co.uk
Debbie Young

Welcome to my author website! Here you can find out more about my books, catch up with my writing-related events, and get a glimpse into other aspects of my writing life, including anecdotes from my family and village life which are both a huge influence on my fiction writing. If you’re an author, aspiring or established, you’ll also find advice and inspiration for your own work here.

Please feel free to contact me or leave comments. I’ll always be glad to hear from you, though it may take me a while to reply – as you’ll see from this website, I lead a very busy writing life!

In the meantime, if you’d like to be among the first to know next time I launch a new book, just click here to sign up to my mailing list. You’ll also receive a free download of a short story collection, plus a free new story with every e-newsletter.

With very best wishes

signature mauve

Book array April 2016
My multi-genre bookshelf – evidence of a busy bee with a butterfly mind

PS Here’s a quick summary of My Writing Life in case you don’t have time to browse the whole site just now


I write fiction and non-fiction books:

  • warm, witty, whimsical stories of English life
  • memoirs and essays about life in an English village
  • friendly, down-to-earth how-to books for other authors
  • supportive books for those affected by Type 1 diabetes

When I’m not writing books, I’m busy with other book-related activities:

Debbie with ALLi friends in selfie shot
Celebrating the launch of “Opening Up To Indie Authors” at the London Book Fair, with authors Jessica Bell, Hugh Howey, Orna Ross and Dan Holloway, and Kobo’s UK Director Diego Marano



Group photo of Caroline, Claire and Debbie
The BBC Radio Gloucestershire Book Club 2015 – from left to right, Caroline Sanderson, Claire Carter and Debbie Young



  • helping other authors as Author Advice Centre editor and ambassador at the global Alliance of Independent Authors
  • running two writers’ groups in Bristol and Cheltenham



Link to sign up to book news mailing list